marinnyc3.reismee.nl

Back in the Big Apple again

Eindelijk is het weer zover, vandaag vertrok ik naar mijn geliefde New York City.

De reis verliep vlotjes. Om half vier zette ik voet op JFK en om vijf uur stond ik al in Penn Station!

Een handig detail: als je terugkomt op een oudere ESTA, hoef je niet langs immigration, maar mag je de route volgen van de US citizens en Canadezn ... En dat maakt een groot verschil!

De oogscan en vingerafdrukken zijn self-service. LOL ... ik kreeg een strook met een zeer verraste foto van mezelf ... lachen ... (jammer genoeg bleek ik het niet te mogen houden, anders had ik daar ook nog een foto van genomen).

Sommige van die stroken zijn gemarkeerd met een grote rode X en die mensen moeten in een andere rij staan. Ik geloof dat zij extra controle kregen.

Het was best kicken om tussen de locals te staan ... ik kreeg een beetje het gevoel dat ik hier echt thuis hoor als heuse New Yorker ... Op weg naar de bagage wierp ik een blik op de immigratie-rij en oh boy, die mensen hadden nog even te gaan. Er waren weer veel vliegtuigen om dezelfde tijd aangekomen!

De koffers kwamen tegelijk met mij tevoorschijn, dus ik kon meteen door naar de Airtrain en de subway. 'Stand clear of the closing doors, please …' Ah, ik ben weer thuis!!

Vier zwarte jongens cruisten de coupees af, hun danskunsten en atletische trucjes vertonend, begeleid door muziek (nou ja, ik geloof dat het muziek moest voorstellen ... *zucht*). Wow, ze waren echt goed en heel enthusiast. Leuk om te zien. En toen ze de deur weer uit waren, deed een klein meisje van een jaar of 5 ze nog eens dunnetjes na. Zo schattig, met haar roze outfit. Die komt vast nog eens op Broadway.

Okay, nu Penn Station nog overwinnen ... dat is altijd een uitdaging, zeker als je bagage bij je hebt. Daarna nog een money order kopen in het gigantisch indrukwekkende postkantoor achter het station (ik hoorde later dat mensen dit gebouw vaak voor een gerechtshof aanzien) en ook wilde ik nog even naar de net zo indrukwekkende B&H, een giga fotozaak. Om geld uit te geven dat ik van mijn big bro heb gekregen om in fotografie te investeren .... een superzoom lens die ik de komende 2,5 week eens goed uit ga proberen.

Om 7 uur ben ik in het Brandon Residence, nog net in tijd voor een vullende maaltijd. Oorspronkelijk was ik nog van plan om naar het Hudson River Park te gaan om de lens uit te proberen, maar het is al donker ... en ook, ik ben wel klaar voor mijn bed. Ik had nog net energie voor een snelle douche, maar nu ga ik slapen, dromend van morgen.

Wat heerlijk om hier weer te zijn!!

English:

Well, finally the day has come. Today I travelled to my beloved New York City.

Everything went smoothly. I set foot on JFK soil at 3:30PM and was in Penn Station at 5PM!

Fun detail: when you're returning on an earlier ESTA, you can skip immigration and join the US citizens and the Canadians …. And boy, does that make a difference! ( I nearly missed it, as I was eyeing the crown moving into immigration lines and thinkin ...'boy, this is going to take a long time ' .... and then by chance my eye caught that 'returning ESTA notice ..." I turned around to ask staff and almost got pushed into the 'ordinary' line by a local who had decided I was first-timer and was trying to be helpful ...)

The eye scanning and fingerprinting is all self-service. LOL …. got a great flyer with a very surprised picture of myself (unfortunately, I didn't get to keep it). Some flyers with marked with a huge X and those people had to go to another line, I guess they got an extra check?

It was kinda fun rushing along among locals, made me feel just a little bit like a New Yorker. On my way to luggage reclaim, I looked at the immigration lines and they were definitely good for a one-hour wait! Lots of planes had landed at the same time.

Luggage was arriving as I did, so off to the Airtrain and onto the subway. 'Stay away from the closing doors …' Ah, I'm home!!it's so much fun watching all the different people around you. There's definitely New Yorkers walking around that can only and truely be classified and New Yorkers .... I bet I'll be tempted to follow into Bill Cunningham's shoes and start taking pictures of all those great outfits!

Four young black dudes were cruising the subway trains, showing off their dancing and athletic skills accompanied by music. (Well, I think it was supposed to be music, but never mind …) They were pretty good and very enthusiastic. Fun to watch.

After they were gone, this little girl of maybe 5 or 6 started immitating them. She was so cute in her pink outfit, a performer in the making, for sure.

Then it was time for me to tackle Penn Station, always a challenge, especially with luggage. Not only did I have to buy a money order in the huge, majestic post office (I was told people tend to think it's a High Court building, it's that impressive), but I also wanted to stop by B&H, to spend the money my big bro gave me to invest in photographing ….. and I invested it in a super zoom lens, which I'll be trying out extensively during the next 2.5 weeks ^_^

And boy, that B&H!! It's humongous! Again, I wasn't settled enough to have my camera at hand ... I might just visit it only to take pictures! I couldn't believe my eyes! I brought a small tripod that I got from my aunt, but it was literally dwarfed by the ones that were being demonstrated to customer, LOL ...

Landed in the Brandon Residence at about 7 PM, just in time for a hearty dinner. My plan of hitting the park along the Hudson to try out my new lens was aborted …. it's getting dark, and what's more, I'm ready for bed … I only just managed the shower but now it's off to sleep, dreaming of tomorrow.

(I'll add some pics tomorrow)

It's so good to be back here!

Reacties

Reacties

Judith

Sound as a lot of fun, Be a New Yorker.
Looking forward to your pictures XJuud

philippe

Marian ,
Nice to hear, you staying to your beloved New York City ( and also mine ) I’m just checked , the Brandon Residence look fine , upper west site , close to line 1 and 2 , not far from the riverside . A very good location (What a pity ….just for women I see ) Enjoy your trip , have fun but remember…. give us every day a good story and nice pictures about an impressive city .

philippe

upper west side !!!

Marian

Dutchies don't need to reply in English ... I have some international readers this time .. that;s all ^_^

Philippe: this nabe is great! Tall, old-style buildings, majestic atmosphere. I love it here

Brigitta

Feeling your vibe!
Ik zit hier al te genieten van je 1e verslag :-)

Marian

Net een super ochtend in CP gehad!! Nu even foto's bekijken, mijn verblijft betalen en dan op naar Bryant Park, waar ik ga lunchen met iemand ^_^

Ranjitha

Welcome to America:-)Looking forward to hearing about your experiences and seeing New York through your eyes and perspective:-)

Ed

Well Hope you'll have fun using your new lens!!
Greetz,
Corinne & Ed

PS we are in Holland at the moment and left you een klein gijtje that we found for you in a store in Frankfurt.

Love, bro

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!